14/03/15 – March Update on the Giant Onions

Well it’s been a busy few weeks getting everything ready and all the preparations for the other veg I’m going to be growing this year. But I finally got around to sorting the onions. My tube heater for the greenhouse arrive sometime at the beginning of March, so I wired this up to a thermostat in the greenhouse. I set it straight to 12C and took a reading of the temperatures first thing every morning and last thing on an evening for a week to see how well the heater was working. During the very cold frosty nights the temperature was getting down to 6/7C in the raised beds by early morning, but then was easily hitting 12C+ during the daylight. I was hoping the temp wouldn’t drop below 10C but I decided to go for it anyway and get them planted out, as long as the frost doesn’t get in then I’m happy.

I was really restricted for space in the raised bed after I measured it out, I think 12 plants is too much in the area but I have nowhere else they can go. Maybe I should have sacrificed 2 or 4 onions to make more room for the others but by the time I’d realised they were already planted, so we’ll see how they go.

140315(1) 140315(2)

There’s a couple of pics when I planted them out. You can just about see the green tube heater on the left pic attached to the front of the boxing in, forgot to take some proper pics of this when I was fitting and wiring it up. Going to leave the supports on until we get some decent sun and the leaves thicken and strengthen up a bit, then I’ll probably add some more rows of the canes going the opposite direction to act as supports.

Over on the other veg, the Cappricia F1 tomatoes all shrivelled up and died for some reason, so I ordered some Panovy F1’s to see if they fair any better, they are just at the 2 leaf stage now. Carrots and parsnips outgrew the cardboard loo rolls too quick (the roots started folding in the bottom) so I had to ditch them and start over, will have to get these into their final spots pretty soon after germination this time as the roots seem to grow twice as quick as the leaves. And still no sign of the ghost chillis germinating :/ Kestrel seed potatoes arrived last week so I’m now just waiting for some poly pots to be delivered with the aim of getting these planted out mid April.

So aside from the Cappricia tomatoes we’re still all good. Will post some close ups of the best onions so far when I get chance over the weekend.

Leave a comment