Giant onion 2015 results

Well it’s now 3 days after the show and only just getting time to post the results.

I estimated the onion would reach around 18″ by show day. I got up nice and early to dig up the last onion and prep the rest of my veg. A final measure of the onion after digging it up gave me a final measurement of 18.25″, smashing my personal best of 14.25″. A quick weigh and the final weight was 3lb 6oz. I have to admit although smashing my PB I was a little disappointed that it didnt weight more as it seemed far bigger than anything i’ve grown before.

Anyway, I tied up 3 of my matching onions for the set of 3 class, along with my other veg and headed off to the show.

I took the following:

3 sets of 3 potatoes
2 sets of 2 parsnips
2 sets of 3 carrots (one stump rooted and one long set)
1 set of 3 onions
2 sets of 4 tomatoes
1 longest runner bean
1 heaviest onion

So, as I arrived there were 3 or 4 onions already benched, 1 of which was my uncles and was clearly heavier than mine. I knew beforehand he had some beauties so wasnt expecting to win but had hoped for a place. At the time mine was larger than the rest until someone else dropped one in bigger. Then 10 mins from closing time (I had my fingers crossed for a 3rd place), a guy comes in and drops 2 x 8lb’ers, clearly larger than anyone elses by far. So no place for me and my uncle having to settle for 3rd. Heres a pic of my biggest…

DSC_0103

So the rest of my hopes were pinned on the rest of the veg, and I wasnt disappointed. The set of 3 onions looked mint all tied up and benched, and all measured at 16″ circumference. I had to settle for 2nd place here though as my uncle again outdid me with a set of 3 larger ones, and he also got ‘best in show veg’ award for his set. First pic is of mine, and then another of mine at the side of his…

DSC_0086[1] DSC_0085[1]

Onto the carrots I got 1st place…they all measured 11″ long…

DSC_0082[1]

The second set of carrots (stumped) didnt do anything but my 2 sets of parsnips got me another 1st and 2nd. The laongest parsnip measured a whopping 35″ long. Biggest I’ve ever grown…they were an absolute nightmare to pull up, and personal I think the ones that came 2nd were better but I had damaged the tops slightly when trying to get them out…

DSC_0083[1] DSC_0084[1]

The onto the potatoes I managed another 2nd and 3rd, losing yet again to my uncle who claimed 1st…

DSC_0081[1] DSC_0080[1]

So overall I’m chuffed at all the places I got, but it looks like its back to the drawing board if I’ve got to compete with 8lb onions :/

Bring on 2016 \o/

Leave a comment