06/02/15 – February Onion Update

Well the onions are still flying away. Due to the lack of room in the grow chamber I’ve had to pick out the best 15 plants and stick the rest on a window sill to make room for my tomatoes and chillis, which I sowed a couple of days ago. Decided on Cappricia F1 tomatoes which I am told are the new Cedrico which I won a local show with last year, and giving the slightly spicy Ghost Chillis a go haha.

Really needed to make room in there anyway as all the leaves were starting to thicken and so many plants tight together was starting to restrict the light. I have noticed they are starting to go a bit leggy which I think is simply down to them being in desperate need of some natural light. Unfortunately it’s going to be a good few weeks yet until I can get them outside. I have ordered a 150w electric greenhouse tube heater, and plan to get the greenhouse insulated with bubble wrap either this weekend or next in hope that I can get the onions out maybe 2-3 weeks earlier than I was planning. The sooner I get it insulated the sooner I can monitor the night time temps in there and see how cool it drops with a heater going. If I can manage to keep it above 10C on frosty nights I’ll get them planted out then.

Anyway here’s some pics of the progress, the best 5 plants at present…

DSC_0087[1]

Thats a 5 litre watering can to give an idea of size. And this is the biggest/thickest one so far…

DSC_0089[1]DSC_0088[1]

Lets see if the going stays good into March, fingers crossed.

Leave a comment