05/07/15 – July Giant Onion Attempt Update

OMG how much time does a baby take up lol, I’ve had no time at all to write up any proper blogs, however I have kept on top of maintaining my veg growing efforts and snapping a few pics along the way.

Anyway, here’s where we are at as of today. 12 onions went into the growing bed initially, and as I suspected it was too many for the size of the bed. As soon as the leaves started growing thick and large the onions towards the back and left corners started to have the light blocked and fell behind in size from the front ones.

I started measuring the circumferences from 17th May to track how they were doing. The first couple of weeks they were putting on between 1/2″ and 1″ per week girth. After that they started to pick up and put on anything between 1″ to 2.5″ per week in girth depending where they were positioned on the bed.

The last 2 weeks I have started to add some Tomato feed to their waterings to see if this will increase the growth. Heres a pic of the whole bed…

050715(1)

The picture doesn’t really do them any justice, they are way bigger than they look, or at least I think so lol. As you can see the ones at the back left and front left are still yet to swell properly, not enough light getting to these areas.

Heres a piccie of the biggest so far, circumference as of this morning was 13.25″. This one has put on 1.75″ to 2.25″ each week for the last 4 weeks so fingers crossed it will continue at this rate for a few more weeks.

050715(2)

The next best 4 measure at 13″, 12.75″, 11.75″ and 11.5″ so hopefuly between these 5 I will have a good set of 3 to put in a couple of local shows.

Anyone who’s interested in other veg, I have topped my 4 tomato plants after the 4th truss, and reduced the trusses down to 4 tomatos per truss, all have set and range from cherry tomato size to full size, but still green and yet to ripen.

The parsips and carrots have gone wild, I’m particularly impressed with how well the parsnips have grown (above ground at least) lol. Remember I set these off in cardboard loo rolls indoors intitally and then planted out at a couple of inch tall so will be really interested to see how these have done when I pull them up. They may well have forked from the disturbance but we’ll see…

050715(5) 050715(4)

Potatoes just starting to flower….

050715(3)

And the little experiment I was trying with stump rooted carrots grown in some cut up drain pipes…

050715(6)

That’s about all for now, I’ll try and keep on top of the updates over the next few weeks as we run into show season

🙂

Leave a comment