28/07/15 – End of July Giant Onion Update

Update on the progress of the giant onions.

The last 2 weeks growth has started to really slow down now. The week before last they averaged just over 1″ circumference growth for the week, and last week they were averaging just under 1″ so doubt theres much left for them to do now.

The largest 6 onions measure in at 16.5″, 2 x 15.75″, 15.5″ and 2 x 14.5″.

Only 2 and a half weeks left until show day so got to make some decisions this Saturday of which of all the onions I am going to leave in the ground to keep growing, and which to pull up and allow to start drying out for the dressed set of 3.

With only a handful that will match in size and shape I can only leave 1 in the ground to continue growing, which looks like the 16.5″ one as this one still did grow an inch the previous week. Might get lucky and be able to scrape it up to 18″.

With my previous personal best onion measuring at 14.25″ circumference and weighing 2.25lb I think I can safely say I’ve already beaten this with at least 6 of my onions this year, and I’ve already got some ideas for next year of how I think I can hit the 20″+ circumference.

Heres some pics…

The biggest one so far, 16.5″ circumference beside a 4″ pot…

280715(1)280715(2)

A shot of the bed with a few of the biggest ones in…

280715(3)

Over on the other veg, the tomatoes are just starting to change colour now, should ripen perfectly for in 2 weeks time. To aid the process I’ve cut a lot of the foliage back to allow plenty of light to the fruits and started watering at double dose of fertiliser.

Found swarms of green and black fly on my carrots and parsnips so I’ve have to spray these as the new leaves were just starting to come through but then get hammered by the flies and dying off. Apart from that they look well and some carrot tops started pushing up out the soil so I had to re-cover these will soil. The ones I saw looked good at the top end but its whats underneath that counts. I will wait until the night before the show to pull these up.

Potatoes have been flowering for a week now so at the weekend I will chop all the stalks/foliage off down to the bags, and leave them to dry for 2 weeks to get a good skin to set.

Cherry tomatoes are only just setting at the flowers so I cant see any of these being ready to enter at the show.

Leave a comment